archiving not removing patient from mailchimp

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • Not a Problem
  • (Edited)
I want to report an unusual error that we ran into between Front Desk and Mailchimp. In a recent email campaign, an email was sent in error by Mailchimp to a deceased patients email address that we had archived 8 months ago in Front Desk (I did sync Front Desk with Mail Chimp before sending the campaign). I have investigated what happened from our end, and found that the email address that we sent to was used for both the archived patient and her daughter, who is still a current patient. So it seems that we had previously linked the email address to the archived patient, and that this link was not reverted to the daughter at the time of archiving. This lead to some embarrassment on our end as the daughter reported the problem to us and I suspect some upset with the daughter. 

I hope this makes sense and that a fix can be found so this does not happen again. 
Photo of Mark Caldwell

Mark Caldwell

  • 4 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes

Posted 3 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Tony Taddeo

Tony Taddeo, Managing Director

  • 76 Posts
  • 33 Reply Likes
Hi Mark

I'm not sure what you mean by "we had previously linked the email address to the archived patient". I am assuming you were using the same email address for the father and the daughter in 2 separate patient files.

In this case, though unfortunate, it appears that Front Desk correctly excluded the details of your archive patient and included the details of the active patient in your email campaign. This is the correct behaviour. Further, if you used other fields such as <<first name>>, the email would have been addressed to the daughter.

It's not possible when archiving patients to also archive the details of other patients that share some common contact details as we don't know when this is intended or not intended behavior. Almost always, it would not be intended.

Tony
Photo of In Stride Health Clinic

In Stride Health Clinic

  • 124 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
If there was a deceased button and it was dated and selected (Similar to archiving button), the details linked to that account could possibly be set up to leave an error.  Therefore prompting staff to check details on that account and/or multiple accounts.  Sharon