Delete Medicare claim

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
Accidently made a claim to Medicare. Rang and cancelled it with them. When I try to delete the transaction it won't let me. Any ideas?
Photo of Trevor

Trevor

  • 70 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Andrew

Andrew, Community Manager

  • 344 Posts
  • 112 Reply Likes
Official Response
Please find below the instructions to remove a cancelled Medicare transaction from Front Desk.

Within a patient file, a transaction cannot be deleted while a Medicare claim is still 'attached' to it. This is locked to maintain the link between the transaction and the claim, so it can later be processed online.



To unlock the transaction for deletion, the claim would first need to be deleted from Medicare/DVA Claims found under the System menu. Please only delete a claim if you are certain this is the correct course of action as confirmed by Medicare.



Once the claim has been deleted from Medicare/DVA Claims it will no longer be attached to the transaction in the patient file, which will allow you to delete the transaction.



Notice below that there is now no [+] on the transaction showing an attached claim. You may need to refresh the patient file before these changes will show by either moving to another tab, or closing and re-opening the patient file.



The option to delete the transaction will then be available.



Please note if you are advised to resubmit a Medicare or DVA claim, it is recommended not to delete the transaction itself and only the claim. This will maintain the link between the deleted claim and the transaction if you ever need to restore the original claim.

You can resubmit a Medicare/DVA claim using an existing transaction by right-clicking on the transaction and choosing a claim type under Medicare Online.

Note only authorised staff should have access to edit or delete transactions in Front Desk. User access can be managed by the Admin user from the Security window found within the System menu. Delete Transactions and Edit Transactions can then be enabled or disabled as below for each user.