Deletion of contact from a single file

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 month ago
  • Answered
Our clinic recently came across an issue with patient file contacts - a new patient file was being entered, and due to a misclick when adding the emergency contact, an existing, unrelated contact was added to the file. We then tried to delete the contact from this file but received the warning that the contact would be permanently deleted from all patient files in the system, including the file it was correctly linked to.
As we were unable to find the patient file the contact should have been linked to, we decided to completely delete the contact, and rely on the fact that the contact would still be written in the intake form saved to that patient's attachments. We were then met by a message stating we could not delete the contact from the system until they were removed from all patient files.

At this point our solution has been to remove all identifying information from that contact, which has overwritten all instances of the contact, and replace with "DO NOT USE", but we are wondering if there is an easier way to do this, or if perhaps in a future version of Front Desk there could be added an option to "Clear" contact fields similar to the option for referrers?
Photo of Ana Gorgievski

Ana Gorgievski

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 1 month ago

  • 1
Photo of Timothy

Timothy, Business Care Manager

  • 758 Posts
  • 220 Reply Likes
Hi Ana. Thank you for your post. Could you please open a support case at www.smartsoft.com.au/support so that we can take a closer look at this?
Photo of Ana Gorgievski

Ana Gorgievski

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks Timothy, I have just sent this through as a support case.