Merge Client Details e.g if the same client is in the frontdesk twice are you able to merge both files together so that no data is lost?

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • Answered
Are you able to Merge Client Details e.g if the same client is entered in the frontdesk twice are you able to merge both files together so that no data is lost?
Photo of Administration SUH

Administration SUH

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Joyaa Antares

Joyaa Antares

  • 329 Posts
  • 97 Reply Likes
Hi Tracey

Yes - SS have a script they can send you to do this.  It has some limitations however.

Off the top of my head (as I don't have access to FD right now) - 
The script helps you to sort out the contact details, DOB etc, also merges the history of transactions and appointments, also merges clinical notes.

Still off the top of my head -
It doesn't merge the "Alerts" section at the top of the clinical notes page, and I don't remember if it merges notes/warnings (it might) or scans/attachments (probably, best to double check).

Be aware of complications like the patient file is linked (e.g. for billing purposes) to another file, and check the results give you what you want.

Once you have done the merge, check everything and THEN you can delete the file you don't want - the merge script doesn't do this for you (which is a sensible safeguard).

Hope this helps.  Joyaa
Photo of Kelly Harloff

Kelly Harloff

  • 13 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
How do I get access to this script? I have quite a few files that need merging.
Photo of Tony Taddeo

Tony Taddeo, Managing Director

  • 99 Posts
  • 41 Reply Likes
Hi Kelly there is no official Smartsoft script to do this, however we do have a patient merge utility as per Andrew's post.
(Edited)
Photo of Andrew

Andrew, Community Manager

  • 367 Posts
  • 114 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi Tracey

We do have a 'Merge Patients' utility which can be used to move most of the data from one patient file to another.  The specific details on what is transferred between the two files is summarised in the utility itself. As Joyaa mentioned above it doesn't actually remove the patient file for you (as a safety measure), but once you are satisfied with the result you can archive the unneeded file.

Because moving the data cannot be undone easily, it would be best if our support team walk you through using the utility to start with.  Please contact our Helpdesk on 1800 18 18 20, or email us at helpdesk@smartsoft.com.au to arrange a callback and one of our support staff will be happy to assist.
(Edited)